Saturday, June 16, 2012

An Interview With Eleanor Clark

The Eleanor Series
Eleanor Clark, author

Leaving a Legacy for Your Children

People from north to south, east to west are celebrating the summer months in a variety of ways: leisurely days at the neighborhood swimming pool, a family vacation to the beach, camping out with loved ones. In the midst of this fun season, don’t forget to give your kids the very best sort of vacation—the kind they can take in their imagination!
Today I’m interviewing octogenarian, Eleanor Clark, a vibrant woman in her golden years who has written a lovely series of books for girls called The Eleanor Series. The books released a few years back in hardback, but she’s in the process of putting them out as e-books. Exciting news for parents on the lookout for great literature for their kids!

Eleanor, welcome! Can you tell us a little about yourself?
Perhaps I should start by telling you that I just celebrated a very important birthday—my 80th! And yes, I’m still very active! I’ve spent years researching my family’s lineage. After discovering some exciting stories, I decided to write them down in The Eleanor Series. I spend every day telling others about my books and sharing my love of faith, patriotism and godly character. What a wonderful life I lead!

So, the stories in this series are based on real-life experiences?
Yes, loosely based, anyway! I’ve fictionalized several very real stories, going back to my 8x great-grandmother! My family instilled a wonderful legacy in me and I want to pass that on to my children, grandchildren, great-grandchildren, and to all of my readers, as well.

Can you tell us about the book you're featuring today?
Today I’m featuring the first book in the series: Mary Elizabeth, Welcome to America. I’m so tickled to announce that this book is now available in e-book form! In fact, it’s free on kindle from June 15th – 19th. I’ve waited for this day for some time, so I’m very excited. Here’s a little tidbit about the story: Mary Elizabeth's life undergoes a dramatic change when she leaves the only home she has known for another world far away in a place called America. The journey aboard the ship not only teaches her about perseverance but also that making a home in a new world has its share of challenges. Join Mary Elizabeth as she lives one of the greatest adventures of a lifetime and learns the importance of family and the value of perseverance.

So this book is already out in print?
Yes, the entire series released in hardback a few years back. Hardback copies are still available. All seven books are available at or by contacting me through my website.

Will the other books in The Eleanor Series release as e-books as well?
Yes, and I'm so excited about the adventure ahead! The books will release one per month over the next six months with the final story, a Christmas story, releasing in early December. Here's a list of the titles and release dates:
·      Mary Elizabeth: Welcome to America (June 15th )
·      Victoria Grace: Courageous Patriot (July 15th)
·      Katie Sue: Heading West (August 15th)
·      Sarah Jane: Liberty's Torch (September 15th)
·      Eleanor Jo: The Farmer's Daughter (October 15th)
·      Melanie Ann: A Legacy of Love (November 15th)
·      Eleanor Jo: A Christmas to Remember (December 1st)

What sets these books apart from the American Girls series?
The American Girls series is a wonderful collection for girls, but my stories have something those books do not: faith elements. The salvation message is evident in every story, as well as a deep love of God and country. Not only will children get a comprehensive history lesson through the exciting stories, they will also receive a greater understanding of the role their faith plays in modern-day life.

I seen the book is intended for girls. What about my son? Well he enjoy it too?
I’m thrilled to report that some of the series’ biggest fans are boys! And adults, too. I’ve been tickled to see people young and old, male and female, enjoy these stories. Here’s what one reader had to say: We purchased four of the Eleanor Jo books for Christmas gifts for little girls on our list and after reading the book, we intend to order several more. We will be proud to give this book to any young children. We began reading the book, just to review the content and could not put it down. (Ella & David Lott, A reviewer, 11/07/2006)
How do I order a copy of the book?
Mary Elizabeth, Welcome to America is immediately available on kindle (free from June 15th – 19th; $3.99 after that), or in hardback (through my website).

What are you offering my bloggers today?
One lucky person will have an opportunity to win a hardback copy of Mary Elizabeth welcome to America when they leave a comment at the end of this blog!

You’ve been a delight to interview, Eleanor! How can we stay in touch with you?
Thank you so much for having me! Readers can reach me at:
My website:
My Eleanor Series facebook page:

Friends, please check out Eleanor’s series. I think you’ll love it. The Eleanor Series will be a wonderful addition to any library. It will also inspire parents and grandparents to research their family’s history. So, this summer, as you’re setting your sites to the school year ahead. . .take a moment to look back at where you’ve come from. Then, be prepared to leave behind a legacy of love!

About the Author:
Eleanor Clark lives in central Texas. She is the matriarch of the family that includes 5 children, 17 grandchildren, and 5 great-grandchildren. Born the daughter of a Texas sharecropper and a child during the Great Depression, Eleanor was a female pioneer in crossing economic, gender, educational, and corporate barriers. Eleanor was an executive for one of American's most prestigious corporations and founded her own highly successful consulting firm. The appreciation of her American and Christian heritage comes to life along with her exciting and colorful family history in the youth fiction series, The Eleanor Series.

About the series:
There are seven books in the series that highlight the lives of young girls throughout American history. The stories are based on the true-life accounts of author Eleanor Clark’s family history. Each book focuses on a particular character trait and is laced with the pioneering spirit of one of Eleanor’s true-to-life family members. Twenty-first century readers are sure to relate to these amazing, character-building stories while learning Christian values and American history. Modern parents will be blessed as their children learn countless lessons from the pages of each book in the series.

Cozy Mysteries by Linda Kozar

Gate Beautiful Radio Show--November 21, 2013

Family Reunion--Oregon 2012

Click here to view this photo book larger

Start your own Shutterfly Photo Book today.

Meet The Christian Authors--2011

Meet The Christian Authors--2011
@ Barnes & Noble, Houston, TX